Drive-By Tourist in Boston

My daughter, son-in-law and I were stuck in traffic during Boston rush hour after leaving the Museum of Science. That's when I saw the Bunker Hill obelisk.

My daughter, son-in-law and I were stuck in traffic during Boston rush hour after leaving the Museum of Science. That’s when I saw the Bunker Hill Monument.

Earlier this month, my daughter, son-in-law and I left the Museum of Science in Boston at the beginning of rush hour. Stuck in traffic, I was happy to see that I could notch another site on my tourist belt without leaving the car when I saw the Bunker Hill Monument through the windshield.  On my left was Bunker Hill Community College. I leaned out of the window and grabbed a couple of shots. I was going to straighten the photo I included here, but that would have cut out some of the signs. In the sky, you can just make out a jet airplane, which you can see when you click on the photo to see it full size.

The obelisk commemorates the Battle of Bunker Hill, which took place in the Charlestown area of Boston during the American Revolutionary War. The Americans lost the battle, which took place on June 17, 1775, but the British lost so many men, including many officers, that it was a Phyrric victory in which the gain was small but the cost was very high. The order “Don’t fire until you see the whites of their eyes” was made popular in stories about the battle of Bunker Hill, although that wasn’t the first case in which that phrase was used.

The Bunker Hill Monument stands 221 feet (67 m) high on Breed’s Hill. The Marquis de Lafayette laid the cornerstone on June 17, 1825, the fiftieth anniversary of the battle.  Daniel Webster delivered an address during the cornerstone dedication. Soil from Bunker Hill was sprinkled on the graves of Lafayette and his wife. Some day, I need to return to visit the Bunker Hill Monument site on foot.

About the Battle of Bunker Hill.

6 Comments

Filed under History, Photography, Travel

6 responses to “Drive-By Tourist in Boston

  1. I love your drive-by phototourism. You are truly a dedicated phototourist. Next time you have to climb to the top and show us the view!

    • Hey, did you coin a new term? Phototourist. I like it. I’m afraid of heights so I’ll have to limit my view from the base of the monument. It was scary enough hanging out of the window in heavy traffic.

  2. elissestuart

    Drive-by “phototourism” was the only way we saw anything when I was growing up. Oh wait, I take that back, we were allowed to get out of the car at the Grand Canyon. We were there a total of 5 minutes. Washington DC was seen by car….photos taken with a grainy little 110 camera. Oh such unfond memories…..

  3. Hi Catherine. I found the plane. Took me ages. (near the top right corner …. or is it a UFO or perhaps a seagull ?? ) Ralph xox :D

  4. I visited Boston almost twenty years ago when my son was little. We brought him to the Children’s Museum. Is it still there? Lots of changes I’m sure. Yes, I do want to re-visit.

  5. I can tell you that we Bostonians, miss these little, relevant details all the time. Thanks for reminding me to pause and look around the next time i’m in traffic.

Leave a Reply

