Moose in Colorado

This moose stared back when I was taking its photo in Colorado.

This moose stared back when I was taking its photo in Colorado.

Swedish photographer Björn Törngren posted some photographs of moose in Sweden on his blog, which reminded me that I hadn’t posted my moose photographs from a trip to Colorado in 2012.

When my husband and I visited the Brainard Lake Recreation Area last year, we were surprised to see moose in Colorado.

Moose are relatively new to Colorado.  According to the National Park Service, historical records dating back to the 1850s show that moose were probably only transient visitors to the area that is now Rocky Mountain National Park.  In 1978 and 1979, the Colorado Division of Wildlife transferred two groups of moose (a dozen each year) from the Uintah Mountains and Grand Teton herds to an area just west of the Never Summer Range near Rand, Colorado.  The moose have prospered in Colorado.  There are now more than 2,300.

All of the moose we saw had antlers, so they were all males.

Wildlife enthusiasts set up to photograph a herd of moose at the Brainard Lake Recreation Area in Colorado.

Wildlife enthusiasts set up to photograph a herd of moose at the Brainard Lake Recreation Area in Colorado.

A boy keeps a fairly safe distance from moose grazing near Brainard Lake in Colorado.  Moose are dangerous and unpredictable and often charge.

A boy keeps a fairly safe distance from moose grazing near Brainard Lake in Colorado. Moose are dangerous and unpredictable and often charge.

This is one of my better shots.  The moose were far away and were eating most of the time in tall vegetation.

This is one of my better shots. The moose were far away and were eating most of the time in tall vegetation.

A herd of moose line up to graze in a marshy area at Brainard Lake Recreation Area in Colorado.

A herd of moose line up to graze in a marshy area at Brainard Lake Recreation Area in Colorado.

Herd of moose graze near Brainard Lake in Colorado.

Herd of moose graze near Brainard Lake in Colorado.

National Park Service Information on Moose in Colorado.

Story about moose in Colorado.

Wikipedia: About the Moose.

Drunken moose ends up stuck in Swedish apple tree.

Click on the thumbnails to view a full-size slide show.

11 Comments

Filed under Animals, Natural History, Nature, Photography

11 responses to “Moose in Colorado

  1. Thank you Catherine!
    When I look at your photos it feels like I am living in the wrong country or at least the wrong place!
    Beautiful captures…

  2. Lovely photographs Catherine. I am glad you didn’t take one home or you would have had a moose loose in the hoose ;) Ralph xox :D

  3. It’s wonderful that moose have new digs in Colorado. I hope they are protected. Except for a bleary Greyhound Bus trip, I’ve never been to Colorado.

    Those are beautiful photos and thanks for finally getting around to sharing them with us.

  4. Your photos are impressive. I’ve the impression that CO is very similar to what we have here, by the Rockies. I haven’t seen a moose in our city, but there are lots in our neighboring Banff National Park.

    • I looked for moose recently in New Hampshire and Vermont, but didn’t see any despite the many highway signs announcing “Moose Crossing.” They are probably smart enough to avoid the highways.

  5. I grew up in Colorado and we never saw moose. We had to go to Montana to see them.

  6. Great series Catherine. I’ve traveled all over looking for moose, and can say that I’m no moose magnet. I’ve been to New England and Canada numerous times, and despite all the signs of warning, I’ve never spotted a moose. Once in the Tetons, I saw a female, and baby for about 4 milliseconds. It’s pretty funny. ~James

  7. I adore the ‘Moose’, Catherine. I haven’t any particular reason to love them, however I do… ;) Perhaps it has something to do with watching Rocky and Bullwinkle as a youngster; there was something so terribly sweet about them…

    Recently I was watching a TV documentary about Canada (a place I’d love to see). It was mentioned that the Moose is the greatest ‘killer’ on the roads (in a particular part of the country that, at present, I can’t quite remember). However, that aside, I still have a sweet love for this ungainly animal…!

Leave a Reply

