In Search Of….Narrated by Leonard Nimoy

I loved this series, narrated by Leonard Nimoy from 1976 to 1982.  Note the disclaimer in the beginning, including the words “theories and conjecture. ” As many of us shiver this very cold winter, we can think back to some very cold winters in the 1970s when we were warned of a coming Ice Age. 

An update.   Baffin Island Midge Study – debunked for a 3rd time – nearby weather station shows no warming

Here’s my post on a dig of Ice Age mammals, which I visited in the mid-1970s. Hey, I’m not above giving my old posts a plug! The Natural Trap.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “In Search Of….Narrated by Leonard Nimoy

  1. Nimoy rocks, and I remember watching first run episodes of In Search Of… just because he was on the show. They sometimes covered some fairly out there topics if I recall correctly. Thanks for the blast from the past. I look forward to checking out those videos! 🙂

  2. Funny stuff – reminds me of all the science doom and gloom documentaries that we watch now (what would happen if an asteroid hit North America!). BTW, I found a plugin that allows your facebook comments to automatically come up on your blog too. Search for facebook comments under your wordpress plugins and take the second one.

  3. rogerthesurf

    With reference to global warming, which unfortunately so long as governments are considering Cap and Trade and CO2 taxes, is still with us.

    Incidently it is a serious error and tantamount to being a porky to say that warmer climates cause desertification.

    As the air warms there is more evaporation and therefore more precipitation including in the polar regions as snow. One should be aware that during the Holocene Optimum with temperatures significantly higher than the present, the Sahara Desert was lush and fertile.

    There might be global warming or cooling but the important issue is whether we, as a human race, can do anything about it.

    There are a host of porkies and not very much truth barraging us everyday so its difficult to know what to believe.

    I think I have simplified the issue in an entertaining way on my blog which includes some issues connected with climategate and “embarrassing” evidence.

    In the pipeline is an analysis of the economic effects of the proposed emission reductions. Watch this space or should I say Blog

    http://www.rogerfromnewzealand.wordpress.com

    Please feel welcome to visit and leave a comment.

    Cheers

    Roger

    PS The term “porky” is listed in the Australian Dictionary of Slang.( So I’m told.)

  4. I have a friend who has her voice mail message recorded by Leonard Nemoy. How cool is that. A friend of hers arranged it for her. I like to call her just to listen to her answering machine!

Leave a Reply

