The Rolling Stones

The Rolling Stones came to Kansas City again. I hadn’t planned to be in town this past weekend, but bad weather kept me from flying out, so I mused about whether I would have gone to see the Stones again had I known I was going to be home. I’m re-posting what I wrote in about my previous Rolling Stones experience. Sigh.

Catherine Sherman

J.A. got these autographs for me.

I never win anything, I don’t collect autographs, and I usually don’t know anyone who can get me past security…..But the rock n’ roll stars were in alignment at least this one time in April 1999. (Ok, so it’s an old story.)

 The Rolling Stones were bringing their “No Security” tour to Kansas City, their first trip to town in ten years.  Friend and neighbor KG was organizing a group to go. 

We were excited. We actually knew someone who knew someone — our friends and neighbors, the As. Their son-in-law, B.F., was a back-up singer for The Rolling Stones. We’d seen the family photos with the Stones in the A’s kitchen. Grandkids on Stones’ laps.

Mrs. A. offered to get us backstage passes, but told us we were on our own for tickets. 

I didn’t want to pay $250 each.  There were cheaper tickets, but KG wanted the best.  I was planning to sit in the nosebleed section. I’m cheap…

View original post 1,017 more words

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Rolling Stones

  1. It’s fun to reconstruct the past. If only for a fleeting few. My human had a opportunity to see Earl Scruggs play before he died. Said that was special. Mrs. G had a bad experience – she saw Elvis in the late, late part of his career. This was after seeing him several times when he was at his peak. She was so sad she never got over it.

    • I didn’t think my earlier Stones experience could be topped by attending the recent Stones concert (attending doesn’t seem quite the right word…), but people who went said it was awesome, perhaps partly because they were amazed that people in their seventies could still move that quickly. I know plenty in their fifties who can’t. I did see another celebrated performer from the 60s who couldn’t remember half of his lyrics, so I understand about disappointing performances, too.

Leave a Reply

