Hug a Black Cat and Play Scrabble Today

Onyx is a beautiful black cat who was briefly at Wayside Waifs before some lucky person adopted him.  Black cats make wonderful companions and are so chic, too.

Onyx is a beautiful black cat who was briefly at Wayside Waifs before some lucky person adopted him. I was lucky enough to meet him and take this photograph of him looking so very elegant. Black cats make wonderful companions and are so chic, too. Wayside Waifs is a no-kill animal shelter in Kansas City, Missouri.

April  Thirteenth, 2012, is a big day!  It’s Friday the Thirteenth, Thomas Jefferson’s birthday, Scrabble Day and National Peach Cobbler Day, so hug a black cat, serve some peach cobbler to your friends as you play Scrabble and read Thomas Jefferson’s immortal words in the Declaration of Independence.

Here’s a post I wrote in in 2010 in honor of Thomas Jefferson.  Jefferson is timeless, so I’m re-posting it here.   Happy Birthday, Thomas Jefferson!

5 Comments

Filed under Cats

5 responses to “Hug a Black Cat and Play Scrabble Today

  1. Today was a big day. I’m happy to celebrate with a gorgeous photograph of a very gorgeous cat. Nice perspective on that shot! Any word played with “cat” in it earns double points this weekend!

    Like

  2. every day should be peach cobbler day!

    Like

  3. SandySays1

    Cathy, Love that you are so devoted to my animal bros and sis’s. Onyx is one fine looking feline. I thought of you today when I was sitting on the dock with the Geezer. A night heron has a nest across the canal and was feeding its hatchlings. It would of been a spectacular photo and I thought it was too bad I didn’t have you around to click a pic.
    Sandy

    Like

  4. It may be April 13, but I’ve moved on. My students are obsessed with May the 4th be with you!

    Like

  5. I will hug my cat even he’s not black! lol!!I enjoyed reading your post and after reading it I appreciate more my pet and they deserve to be love.
    Ellen
    Cliquez ici to visit my website.

    Like

Leave a comment